top of page
  • Writer's pictureUnraveledCrochet

So You Wanna Crochet

A mistake that many make when they start learning to crochet or knit is to jump right into the stitches and want to make a scarf for their mother's Christmas present immediately.


I made this mistake when I started. Working at JoAnn Fabrics, I was surrounded by crafters that knew far more than I did, fabric, and yarn. I wanted to learn something and be able to answer customers' questions if I could. But the first thing I did was look up a Youtube video about how to make something (I don't even remember what it was because I didn't successfully complete it). I didn't know what kind of yarn I'd want to use or what crochet hook I was supposed to use. But I just wanted to make it.


The idea of starting a project, much like starting to write a book and staring at a blank page, is daunting. But if you know what you're looking at first, the anxiety won't mount so high.


So, start here. Start with Reading a Yarn Label or Choosing Your Hook. And then just start, and I'll be right here with you.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page